There goes life number 3

Yesterday I had my third near-injury experience, revealing a new and exciting slow motion view of the world, which I had previously only seen on The Matrix, Baywatch and nature documentaries featuring cheetahs.  I say near-injury because it was hardly serious enough to be near-death.  Just in case you’re reading this Mum.

I was cycling happily along, when a car which had been calmly waiting at a side road pulled out into my bike just as I was pootling past.  It’s lucky I was pootling – I didn’t hit the road particularly hard, or at any great speed.  I also remember quite clearly going through the manoeuvre I was going to have to perform with my arms in order to protect my face before actually hitting the floor and having to do it.  If that makes any sense. 

Every cloud has a silver lining, and in  the ensuing phone numbers being swapped around, I did collect one from a friendly looking plumber, so you never know, that might just come in handy.  Odd way to advertise your business, but who am I to complain.

One thought on “There goes life number 3

  1. Glad you’re ok. I haven’t been hit yet but I’ve got used to near misses from oblivious drivers. Every so often one looks straight at me as I approach and still pulls out. Some colourful language soon wakes them up.

Leave a Reply

