Winter gardening

Took advantage of a break in the torrential downpour yesterday to dig up all the potatoes we planted in August.  I’m sure I missed quite a few and several got cut in half by my over enthusiastic spadework unfortunately but otherwise not a bad haul considering.

The robin turned up as soon as the soil had been dug, reminding me a lot of Wilb‘s ability to hear her food bag being opened from a radius of 10-15 miles.

But I digress. The whole reason I dug all the potatoes up yesterday was that the next garden experiment had arrived, in the form of 3 raspberry canes from Thompson and Morgan.

They tend to deliver things when you should plant them, so they went straight in. Now I just have to work out what to plant in there besides. Rhubarb? Green beans? Suggestions on a post card please.

One thought on “Winter gardening

  1. Good haul of tatties Rach!

    Nicely grown – bit early for Christmas dinner though don’t you think? I’ve planted 4 secret potatoes that I havent’ told ema about!!! they were sprouting a bit and going for the compost so I thought I’d chuck them in over winter and see how they do! they might die with the cold. ah well.

    We’re putting out cauliflowers now. Rubarb sounds good but don’t forget the leaves are v poisonous???

    cheers
    Nige

Leave a Reply

