New Year’s Day

I’ve realised that we are living in a unique age. I don’t know how failed to notice this before, but there is only one year left, until the year 3000, when you can make glasses out of the ‘0’s in the year for New Year’s Eve parties. How have I missed this for 8 years?!

So what I’m saying is, live for the moment. Anyway, my sisters, Helbabes and Hanbabes came to stay for New Year, which was great. We don’t see enough of each other, and it was lovely to see them, even though I had to get off to work half way through the evening.

Then on New Year’s Day, I decided to take advantage of my Christmas present from my Mum, a year’s membership to the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust. This means Him Indoors and I can go to the London Wetland Centre for free, which is very exciting. Consequently, we all went for just under twenty quid. Bargain.

Here we are, having a lovely time.

We also caught up with a white faced whistling duck. I have never met one of these before, but was delighted to make its acquaintance.

And also this chap, who didn’t want to be photographed, and was making a good attempt to camouflage himself, but I spotted him!

It will be a great place to go when the weather improves, but even in the depths of winter, I love the place. Happy New Year everyone.

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Day

  1. Don’t panic! In the year 2100, we’ll be able to make year-based glasses again. Although they may need some sort of extra support so that they don’t fall over, because they’ll be a bit lop-sided.

Leave a Reply

