Gandhi

Him Indoors and I watched Gandhi last night. I don’t do films in a massive way, but this is one of the best I’ve seen. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it. Although being an un-cultured sort of lass I suspect I may be the last to have discovered it anyway. It was made a year after I was born, so it’s been around a little while now.

I really didn’t know much about Gandhi yesterday morning. I’m happy to report I probably won’t make quite such a fool of myself if I happen to stumble blindly into a conversation about, say, India, or partition, or the British Empire now, than I would previously have done.

I now feel scared about the amount of stuff I know similarly little about. 2008 may have to be a year of learning stuff. If I can learn it all via the medium of film that will make the process considerably less painful. Especially if it’s a beautifully shot, wittily acted, brilliant little film like this one.

3 thoughts on “Gandhi

  1. Nice recommendation ms p, thanks for that. I’ll put it on my ‘lovefilm’ list. To aid your intellectual development, do you want to borrow Die Hard 4.0 that I got for xmas? It’s very good and highlights some interesting sociological themes – well techie ones and blow things up ones. !! :>

    Don’t forget I’ve got Series 1, 2 and 3 of the good life now too!!

  2. funny how we were discussing this during QI last night. Good film, I watched it in 1989 when I was studying GCSE 20th century history. I quite fancied watching it again so thanks for recommending and awakening Tom’s interest.

    Please take him up on the Die Hard offer, if you have it we can’t watch it…..

    Barbara

  3. PLEASE can I borrow Die Hard 4.0 then?! Even if only for Barbara’s sake! I want to borrow your keeping chickens book as well, can swap temporarily for a book called the ’20th Century smallholder’ if you like!

Leave a Reply

