Ice cream

Just thought I’d share a really easy way to make ice cream I discovered the other day. I had some left over cream from something or other and was wondering what to do with it. I vaguely remembered reading somewhere that you can blitz it up with frozen fruit in a food processor, which I happened to have some of, and voila! Really creamy, gorgeous ice cream in seconds. Which is a very good reason to keep frozen fruit in the freezer for months on end I think. Well, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it. It’s not quite the consistency of normal ice cream, being less solid, but all the better for it I reckon. Especially with gratuitous chocolate shavings on top.

Post update: Him Indoors has just reminded me there’s an actual recipe for this!

Ice cream

serves 2

100g / 4oz frozen raspberries (or similar)
10g / half an ounce icing sugar
80g / 3oz cream (more evil the better)

Blend in food processor and serve immediately.

Plus if you want to make a sort of cheese-cakey base, you can mix up

4 gingernuts
1 knob molten butter

and then spoon this into the base before adding the ice cream.

One thought on “Ice cream

  1. ah see now i might send tom out for some cream…. i have mango and other such delights in the freezer and you’ve just made me think ‘oooo nice fruity ice cream!!’

Leave a Reply

