Setting up a wormery 2 – Moisture

This is one of a series of posts about setting up a wormery.  You might like to read these as well:

Setting up a wormery

Setting up a wormery 3 – Design Flaws

As most wormeries are sited outside and open to the elements, they can become soggy as rain enters through ventilation holes in the lid. If you have a tap to release liquid from the bottom of the bin, it can be worth leaving this open for a few days to allow the moisture levels to settle every so often.

In addition, it is worth making sure that 25% of the material you add to the bedding material is absorbent material, such as paper, cardboard, torn up egg boxes etc…

My worms are highly intelligent with a satirical bent, so I make sure they get a shredded copy of Private Eye in with their food every week. If you’re not sure which newspaper your worms will enjoy reading the most, here are a few suggestions:

My worms are:

  1. Lefty media types, interested in art and culture – try The Guardian.
  2. Always complaining about fruit flies, which are infiltrating the bin with not so much as a ‘by your leave’ and gradually eating all their food, stealing their jobs and their women. – try The Daily Mail.
  3. Tight. – Give them a free sheet, try The Metro, thelondonpaper, or if you’re really desperate, London Lite.

 

13 thoughts on “Setting up a wormery 2 – Moisture

  1. Be careful that the tap doesn’t get blocked with gunk – you might not realise until it’s too late. My first set of worms all drowned horribly when that happened to me. I felt like a mass-murderer and had to get my husband to dispose of the bodies. Now I cover over the tap with a small round filter (taken from a washing machine pipe, or something similar) and haven’t had the same problem again.

    I also got worms for my compost bin – then a rat took up residence and ate all of those. So now I’m probably on a ‘most wanted’ list for worms somewhere…

  2. We always put a house brick in the sump, this always allows the worms to clamber out of the liquid.

    Our worms really like reading ‘dear deidre’ agony aunt in the sun :)

  3. I cannot comment on wormery antics, and I feel somewhat left out of the knowledge domain of this subject.

    I shall have to consider how to get into this lifestyle of word-obsessiveness.

    I haven’t even sussed how I’m going to use the worm juice!!

  4. Made me smile too! like the idea of a brick will also do immediately + will go and investigate water levels.

  5. I have seen my friend’s wormery in Ireland which has been very successful and would like to set up the same here in Canada. however, I have a question to ask this learned community – do raccoons present a problem, particularly with respect to cooked food and their desire to gorge on worms???

Leave a Reply

