Jug O’ Milk

I think normal people probably review books, DVDs, films etc… but I thought I’d review JUGIT, a new concept in milk consumption.  Of all things.  The idea is that you buy one of these jugs, and then you can buy lovely wobbly pouches of milk in the supermarket.  These slot neatly into the jug, and hey presto, fresh milk in your fridge with 75% less packaging than ordinary milk cartons according to the blurb.

Well the jug itself works very well.  It fits in the fridge door.  It’s sturdy and the instructions are easy to use.  The way it works is rather clever, you clip a corner of the milk pouch in between the lid and the body of teh jug when you close the lid.  The spout clips in and pierces the pouch.  So far it pours perfectly straight away.

All well and good.  I have three objections to this system.  Firstly, it would be nice to have the option of buying smaller pouches, because I don’t really need 2 pints at a time.

Secondly, you can only get the milk pouches in certain stores, which is a bit of a pain, but apparently this is a trial product at the moment, so I suspect that availability will improve over time.

My major objection is that the milk pouches leak.  Having bought them on two separate occasions now, I have found that I get a few aisles away, having picked one up, and find that all of my lovely shopping now has a thin veneer of milk all over it.  Scrabbling away in the trolley, I find the offending article looking sheepish and continuing to dribble everywhere.  On returning to the milk aisle, I discover that every single milk bag has a similar problem.  Or looks like it does, because once a few of them have spilt, the others get covered in milk as well.  All of which rather ruins the experience.

If they can get this sorted out, it will be a fantastic product.

One thought on “Jug O’ Milk

Leave a Reply

