City bumpkin podcast 3 – Ben Cheetham

I was amazed to discover Deen City Farm just down the road from my house last year, and have been keen to find out more about it ever since.

It’s a riding school as well as a farm, with some lovely ‘growing gardens’.  The site used to be used as a dumping ground, so the existing soil is contaminated.  However they have cleverly got round this by using raised beds, and other planters such as shopping trolleys and old baths.

In addition to the growing gardens, the farm also has a fair amount of livestock, including an aviary, small animals enclosure, and more traditional breeds.

Ben Cheetham is the project manager for Deen City Farm.  He was kind enough to invite me to the farm for an interview for another Big Smoke, Green Living podcast.  (Flighty – this one is one cup of tea and two biscuits long I think).

Or click here to listen in a new window

The City Bumpkin podcast map!

4 thoughts on “City bumpkin podcast 3 – Ben Cheetham

  1. Thanks for another informative and interesting post. The farm website is good as well.
    I listened to what Ben had to say over breakfast so it was a bowl of cereal and milk, not biscuits, with my cup of tea.
    I was surprised to hear that there’s around 20 such places in London. I must find where my nearest one is and visit it. xx

Leave a Reply

