Compost

I’ve had my current wormery for over a year now, and I think I have finally ironed out all the various death traps inherent in the system.  I used to murder the entire population once every six months or so, but now I think I’ve finally worked out how to avoid drowning, frying or starving them to death.  Hurrah!  The problem is that I still have too much stuff to put in there.  Kitchen waste is fine, but grass clippings and bits of shrubs and a particularly vigorous bay tree are never going to be processed in what is really quite a delicate ecosystem.

So, I’ve now set up with a compost bin.  It’s constructed from slats of wood which fit together in a cube shape, so that the whole thing is aerated and open to the elements.  I haven’t been following any of the advice I’ve read about compost over the years, layering, turning etc… but I have been watering it as I suspect that will help the process.  Apparently this is the ‘cold heap’ method, although I haven’t been breaking all the woody stuff down into small bits, which would probably have helped.

The problem is that I don’t really see how I’m going to get the compost out of it once it’s ready.  Turning the whole thing over with a fork seems to me to be nigh on impossible, and there’s no opening at the bottom to allow me to get to the lower reaches of the bin.  Is there any hope, or will I need to buy a different sort of composter?

One thought on “Compost

  1. can you remove any of the lower slats? or would the whole thing just collapse if you did? nige turns ours over with a fork but we have a gap at the bottom to pull all that lovely compost out of – not that i ever have, i just rely on him!

Leave a Reply

