The Big Lunch 2010

Sunday 18th July 2010 will see neighbourhoods up and down the country getting together for lunch. I read about this last year, but never got round to doing anything about it. This year, spurred on by my downstairs neighbour, we’ve actually managed to arrange one.

I thought to myself that if I get to meet even one more of my neighbours it will be worth doing, and I’ve already met one as she came to RSVP in person. It’s looking good so far in terms of bringing a bit of community spirit back to our road.

You can do crazy things like close your street for the duration of the lunch (possible to do via the council for £75 – shame it can’t be done on a permanent basis), but I think ours will be quite a low key affair, this year at least. If it goes well we might do an all singing, all dancing, road closing one next year.

The official Big Lunch 2010 website is here if you fancy setting your own big lunch up, it’s not too late!

2 thoughts on “The Big Lunch 2010

  1. What a brilliant idea :-) not like London at all, with the avoiding your neighbours rule. I like it, I like it a lot. xx

  2. erm would i have to invite the neighbours down the actual road or just those on our drive…. nige’s away that weekend but i guess i could invite the closest neighbours – and i suppose it would help us meet them as we seem to be the only mad fools who ever walk on our road (along with poor friends we manage to con into joining us….) and thus hve absolutely no chance of meeting any of them ever!

    great to see you doing this, almost makes me wish i lived somewhere with more neighbours!

Leave a Reply

