How to clean the glass of a wood burning stove

I was looking for a way to clean soot off our stove last year but couldn’t find much advice apart from to use scrunched up newspaper.  Now, thanks to the chap who came to service the stove last week, I have a much better answer.  Metal polish, applied with a toothbrush works like a dream.

Now that the summer is more or less over, I can’t wait for the first fire of the winter.  It’s also a pretty sustainable option in terms of heating the house as well, and cheaper than gas or electricity.

4 thoughts on “How to clean the glass of a wood burning stove

  1. I’m not sure it’s an approved method, and I’m careful not to scratch the glass, but I use a razor blade paint scraper to clean my stove… works a treat and no chemicals!

Leave a Reply

